newest
older
email
host
profile








2003-02-27 - 4:53 p.m. - stupid guide to educational and career planning!


You want to know what's a bunch of crap? Well, I'll tell you!

In my career planning class we've been taking a bunch of personality assessments and such to figure out what careers we would be good for. On this particular one, the SDS Assessement, it gives you a summary code based on your activities, competencies, occupations and self-estimates. Then you take your summary code and match it up in the occupations booklet to see what kind of jobs people with your summary code have. And do you know what kind of jobs people with my summary code have?

NOTHING! Or everything, I guess. Under my summary code it says "see occupations listed under any code beginning with..." the letter that mine begins with, leaving me to choose from that WHOLE SECTION! Way to narrow it down, you stupid test!

And THEN, when you mix up the letters and look in the rest of the book for alternative occupations, it says the SAME THING! OH excuse me, it says "Website Editor", "Editorial Assistant" and "Website Coodinator (Web Developer). Woo.

So basically I have 19 occupation spaces left to fill in that I have to figure out on my own. This test is a damn failure. This is what I've narrowed it down to:

Accountant
Architect
Astronomer
Cloth Designer
Commercial Designer
Computer Programmer
Data Base Administrator
Design Technician, computer-aided
Desktop Publisher
Dietition, Research
Drafter, Architectural or Mechanical
Fashion Designer
Game Programmer
Geneticist
Graphic Designer
Interior Designer
Lay-Out Former
Model Maker
Ornamental Metalwork Designer
Package Designer
Process Artist, printing & publishing
Quality Assurance Analyst

Don't you love how Geneticist comes right after Game Programmer!? Ha haaa! Me too. And I mostly just picked Quality Assurance Analyst because it has ANAL in the title.



psst - this is the part where I oh so subtly mention that I updated three times today. watch out, nah!



previous - next - guestbook