newest
older
email
host
profile








2003-02-27 - 10:52 a.m. - local phone company


The other night I had just gotten home from work and was fixing myself something to eat when the phone rang. The gentleman on the line informed me that he was calling from "Neighborhood, your new local phone company" and asked if I had heard of them. I hadn't but since I had just gone over our phone bill that day I figured I'd let him do his script. So he says blah blah blah local calls long distance calls blah blah blah. As with all phone company calls, my favorite part is getting to tell them that A.) my long distance is around 3-4 cents a minute, because I think the long distance carrier I have is the only company that has that low of a rate, since every time people call trying to sell me stuff, it stumps them. And B.) I don't really talk on the phone that much anyways so my phone bill is relatively low EVERY month, my roommate usually pays for the majority of the bill because she makes more calls then I do. After I had made both points he sighed and then seeing I was still on the phone began to make small talk, "so you guys are college students? You're what, out in California, right? You're lucky, I'm in Ohio and it's freezing right now."

Oh, right! My new LOCAL phone company. Got it.



previous - next - guestbook