newest
older
email
host
profile








2002-05-09 - 5:49 p.m. - *urp*


Last night, I did something strange and unusual that I've never done before...... ready for this?..... I.... I...... I ate a shrimp. *GASP!!*

Being a vegetarian my whole life, I've heard all KINDS of comments from people, but most can be grouped into 3 general catagories:

type A: These people are usually somewhat surprised and curious, quite obviously showing how sheltered they are because they've never been exposed to something as strange vegetarianism. They ask questions like "why?" and "will it offend you if I eat this in front of you?" and "does the smell make you sick?" These people are funny sometimes, because I get to make up rediculous stories about why I won't ever eat meat and they're often gullible enough to believe them.

type B: These people are either vegetarians themselves, or they've been around vegans or vegetarians enough to know it really doesn't make much of a difference in one's life. They are impartial and nice to be around when I don't feel like having to explain myself.

type C: These people seem to think my life is somehow lacking because I don't eat meat. They're often exclaiming how great this or that type of meat is, trying to convince me to try it. They generally think that one day, I'll finally taste some type of meat and scream out "oh my god, I can't believe I've gone my WHOLE LIFE without eating dead cows! what the hell was I thinking? This changes EVERYTHING!!!"

And yes, Daniel falls into the type C catagory. It doesn't really bother me like other people bother me, because hell, it's Daniel. He puts up with my shit, so he's allowed to get away with things I wouldn't stand from other people. But he still falls into the catagory, often saying "have you ever tried [insert any type of meat here]?, Then how do you know you don't like it?, here, just try a little of this..." and I reply with my standard answer "it doesn't smell good, it doesn't look good, and it has a funny texture".

But, often times when I hear something enough, I start to become doubtful of my own opinions and think "hmm, maybe they're right?" So last night at TGI Friday's when Daniel held a Jack Daniel's shrimp in my face, I inhaled, raised my eyebrows in anticipation and took a bite.

And it wasn't so terrible. I expected to discover this disgusting putrid taste in my mouth, something along the lines of how fish smell, with a spongy texture that would cause me to gag and spit it out. But I gave it a fair try, chewed it and swallowed it, and commented on how it was kinda like a fried mushroom. Except a slightly crunchy part, which I'd like to believe was the batter, but I'm thinking was actually the skeletal system or something... *cringe*

So...you know... don't think this changes anything, because it doesn't. I said it wasn't terrible, but I didn't say it was great either. It's just note-worthy because it's the largest amount of dead animal I've ever had in my mouth at one time in my whole entire life. But definetely nothing to write home about.



previous - next - guestbook