newest
older
email
host
profile








2002-12-13 - 9:31 a.m. - work party / Devlin's prey


Yesterday was our work Holiday Luncheon. After the luncheon we continued festivities back at my place. When I say "we" I mean myself, Carina, Anthony, and Joy. Carina had to leave a bit early to go take a final. I ended up drinking enough to the point that after everyone left I remember chatting with Allie for a bit and then stumbling out of the bathroom and falling onto my inviting bed to pass out about 2 seconds later. This morning before work I had to drink a couple beers to battle the hangover. Unfortunately they didn't do much for this damn headache.

Highlights from yesterday include:

* Being the only one out of the 4 of us that wasn't carded (which I thought was cool at the time, but now that I think about it, I think that means I'm actually starting to look older. Scary!)

* Watching Anthony the die-hard Buffy fan unwrap his gift of a life-sized Sarah Michelle Gellar cardboard cutout.

* When the conversation somehow got on topic of masturbation, getting to admit that I masturbated in the bathroom at work on Tuesday (that was the first time I've ever done anything like that - heehee)

* The unexpected nice FAT bonus check (which was slightly less fat than Carina's, but upon closer inspection proved to be because she gets less taxes deducted than I do).

(don't forget to check out Anthony's entry about the party for another perspective - AND so you can find out how much of a superb chef I am!)


-------------------------------------


A couple nights ago when I was just going to bed I heard Morgan outside scolding Devlin. I went outside to see what all the commotion was about and learned that Devlin had caught a mouse. Someone had told me before that male cats aren't good mousers but I know Devlin is fast as hell so I was kind of proud of him. He had brought his little catch up the walkway for us but Morgan had chased him away so he hid it in the bushes and was still playing with it.

I wanted to see it to confirm that my cat is really as badass as I think he is, so I poked around in the bushes a bit but I didn't have my glasses on and it was dark so I couldn't find it. In the morning when I left for work I was delighted to discover that he had laid it right on the middle of the walkway for me. What a sweetheart!

But, I was disppointed to discover that it wasn't a mouse after all. It was a...
....
.....
......
.......
........
.........
..........
...........
............
.............
..............
...............
................
.................
..................
...................
....................


poor defenseless little crawdad!

Boooooo! Those things crawl very slowly so that's not nearly as cool as a mouse would've been. The stream immediately in front of our place has been broken with the water drained out the past few days so I'm assuming this little guy was making his trek from his previous place of residence to another nearby body of water when Devlin happened upon him. Darn. What a big bully, picking on poor defenseless little creatures! Next time it had better be a mouse, or he's grounded!



previous - next - guestbook