newest
older
email
host
profile








2002-10-22 - 3:09 p.m. - she squeezed my package


Today I was waiting in line at the post office to mail some things I sold on eBay. I felt a bump on my bag, so I glanced back to make sure I wasn't getting robbed. An older asian woman behind me tried to make small talk. "long line!, this rediculous, uh?" When I turned around to agree with her (nod & smile, that's what I always say) she noticed the packages I had in my hand. She then reached out, (invading my personal space again) and squeezed one of my packages, commenting "small!, es cute!". I nodded and smiled some more. I imagine this is the type of woman who would rub my belly if I were pregnant.

-----------------------------

I really like when high school boys wave at me. It has happened twice recently. That's enough for me to label it a common occurance and therefore ponder it. The first time I was sitting in the dentist chair, right around the corner from my work. Don't ask me why the fucking dentist has chairs by large pictures windows, but he does. Three high school boys went walking by, one of which waved. I waved back and they all seemed quite delighted.

Today, I was returning from my lunch break. A gaggle of high school students were crossing the path in front of me (I work near a high school), one of which waved at me. I waved back. Again the boy seemed delighted, while the girl at his side giggled.

I haven't been able to decipher their motives behind this unsolicited action. Are these waves friendly, or are they taunting me? Perhaps I'll never know.

----------------------------

In other news, why do people put the seat down in public restrooms? Twice in the past two days I've entered a stall and the seat was down. I grabbed a bit of toilet paper and gingerly lifted the lid, thinking I might encounter a disgusting, non-flushable mess that someone had given up on and therefore just closed the lid. But no. Coast was clear. So why then? Why close the lid?

I have a hard time believing that someone is so much in the habit of lid-closing that they do it automatically. I myself am a lid-closer. I religiously close toilet lids after use except for A.) in someone's house where I found the lid in the up position initially and B.) in public restrooms. So why? The answers elude me.



previous - next - guestbook