newest
older
email
host
profile








2003-02-25 - 9:30 a.m. - music memories


Oh DUDE! I forgot to mention my very favorite part of the package Liz sent me! It was actually a song on the tape she made... I was listening to it at home Friday night, and this song comes on - No Rain by Blind Melon - and suddenly I'm back at my Dad's Mom's house visiting and Liz is there and my friend Jenn is there and we're listening to this song, each of us emphatically lip syncing with our respective psuedo microphone while standing on top of whatever furniture we feel makes us tallest. I think one of us had recorded the song on tape over and over - or if not that, we just kept rewinding it and playing it over and over. And over and over and over.

Up until that moment I had all but forgot about that day and that has got to be one of the silliest and funnest vivid recollections I have of when I was younger. How friggin great that was, to have it brought back to me. Thanks Liz, you rock!

What actually reminded me of THAT, was because this morning I was listening to Tool on my way to work, which reminded me of something else...

One day Daniel and I were at Guitar Center or some music store like that. Daniel was playing bits of whatever - that's his style, it's all over the place and very rarely does he play an actual song. But that day I think we may have heard it on the radio or something and he started to play the intro to Lateralus. There's this kid on the other side of the store, probably like 15 or 16, and I hear him start playing the other part to it. So I glance over there and see he's got his back turned, but he stops playing and slowly turns and takes a peek over towards Daniel. When he sees no reaction, he goes back into playing the song again and for a short time they're both playing it. It was one of the most adorable things I have ever seen.



previous - next - guestbook