newest
older
email
host
profile








2002-12-12 - 9:54 a.m. - detachment


So I've been reading a lot of lightfallsup's diary lately. The coastergirl diaries break my heart. I was reading what he was saying about detachment and thinking about it in regards to my own life. I'm much too connected to the material things in this world. I always have been. I've always longed to have things... physical possessions, people in my life, etc.

Relationships have been bullshit in my life, whether that be romantic or friendship, they've all mostly been crap. Please don't be offended if you're reading this and you're currently someone who's more or less close to me. I'm just saying that many of my relationships have failed and failed horribly at that. And it makes me question myself, my decisions and the way I've chosen to live. Doing so makes me see myself in a light that I'm not happy about. Today I've been seeing relationships similar to the way I think of drugs. They're fun while they last but when it's all over I'm just sitting there thinking, "well, wasn't that a bunch of bullshit!? Don't I have something better to be doing with my time? I mean, really."

So that's where I'm at. This detachment idea... I think that will be the theme for my next tattoo. It's been a while and I haven't been ready for another one for quite some time but I am now. So today I'm looking for images of detachment for ideas to incorporate into my next tattoo.

Here's what I came across in a brief search:


retinal detachment


oh yeah?


worldly detachment?


cells or amoebas or something?


this one isn't even called detachment but the search pulled it up

It also pulled up a lot of pictures of military stuff, but I'm really not interested in any of that. So obviously I'm going to have to think a little harder and throw some creativity into it. By the time I've got something I want to go with you might not even be able to decipher the theme just by looking at, which is probably what I want anyhow. But I like where this is going.



previous - next - guestbook