newest
older
email
host
profile








2003-02-04 - 9:17 a.m. - career planning (a holistic approach)


School was alright yesterday. Although I really could've used someone to help me get to class okay. Thinking that I knew where the building was, I left my campus map in the car. When I thought I had passed that approximate area and didn't see it, I asked the nearest passerby if he knew where it was. He stopped and looked around kinda perplexed so I'm like, "that's okay" and went to find a directory. When I got there I realized it was back the direction I had come from. When I got to the building I realized that I had been standing directly beside it when I asked that guy, go figure.

Anyhow the actual class seems kinda cool. We started off doing that extremely painful thing where you have to meet someone next to you and then introduce them to the class. We also had to find out one thing about them that you wouldn't guess just by looking at them. That's such a hard question to answer because how are you supposed to know how other people perceive you? The only thing I could think of that people always seemed surprised about is that I don't watch scary movies, so I told the girl to say that. But I thought it would be funny if I made something up so I threw out a few off the wall ideas. It didn't appear that she took an interest in making a joke like that, so she surprised me when she said "and one thing you may not know is that she did jail time for selling drugs". That generated quite a response from the class, there were "oohs" and "wows" and so on, and then she told them she was kidding. It was pretty funny.

After that we took The Keirsey Temperament Sorter that required us to have to add up our points on our own. Most people in the class couldn't figure out how to add the boxes. One girl asked me to help her so I did, then after that a few more people started coming over and asking me to explain it to them. So that was kind of an ego boost. The way it works is that you take the highest of two numbers to figure out which type you are. For one of them mine were tied, so I guess that makes me two types, ISTJ and ISFJ.

The instructor said that by the end of the class, not only will we know exactly what specific job we want to do, we will also have the plans laid out for exactly how and when we're going to go about getting there. My direction has always been undefined so this sounds like it's going to be good for me.



previous - next - guestbook