newest
older
email
host
profile








2003-04-15 - 8:14 a.m. - bright eyes, seemen, mous, people, fun


If I always laughed as much as I laughed this weekend, I think I would be a different person. When I came into work yesterday morning I got a few comments about how I appeared as if I had a really good weekend. I did.

Thursday was Bright Eyes with Anthony and Tal & Andrew met us there. The first band was completely boring. Mostly I just tried to stay awake and stifle my laughter while Tal and Anthony sitting on opposite sides of me made very similar, yet still very funny jokes about the song titles, lighting and other things. The 2nd band held my interest because they had a different sound. The singer had a thick Scottish accent combined with a unique voice and good stage presence. He said cunt a lot but mentioned that in Scotland it's not offensive. The band consisted of him, a guitar player, a cello player, a violin player and a drum machine. It was really mellow.

When Bright Eyes came on I liked his personality and how he reacted to the multitudes of teenage girls yelling out their undying love for him. I think the fact that he was really wasted helped keep the thing pretty light-hearted even though most of his songs were totally emo. Regardless of the fact that he didn't play any of the songs I'm familiar with (all two of them), I really enjoyed the show.

Friday evening was the Seemen show, which was rad. I thought the guy's personality really added a lot... not to mention the tranquility, heh heh. Also that everything was demonstrated using volunteers. I regret that I don't have pictures to show of Diana and Eileen in the fire shower - it looked intense.

After the show Beth, Emmett, Alex, Diana, Tollef and I went to some lame party that wasn't fun. The best part was when we were standing in the hall and some drunk guy mistaked Alex who was sober, bored and slumped against the wall for being drunk. Many jokes and much laughter ensued. Then we left and went to Marianne's house where I was able to utilize my extensive knowledge in high school drinking games. I haven't dabbled in the drink for quite some time, so I got faded rather quickly and enjoyed myself. At some point during the evening someone made an observation about how everyone in the room at the time would be camping together at Burning Man and that was a cool thought. I've been meeting more and more people who are going for the first time this year as well. That fact is making me less nervous and more excited.

Saturday was lego pirate ships, pies, malibu rum and The Ministry of Unknown Science. After the show we went back to Theory Labs where a small group of people including all those previously mentioned plus Ash and Skot were hanging out. It was fun to be able to interact with just Ash, Diana, Beth and Eileen for a while, since I don't know any of them extremely well but I'd like to. Right around the corner there was some sort of small Burning Man gathering taking place, so some of us ventured over there for a while and danced a bit.

I also had the fortune to meet the lovely Anna, which very much made my night. Not only was she extremely nice and easy to talk to, she also lives close by in Long Beach AND she does fashion design (for theatre/opera, I think)! Wow! I'm supposed to be meeting up with her this week to do an interview for my career planning class and to discuss an internship. Woah. I can't wait.

Sunday we went to the The Getty for a while where most of the time I spent cursing the fact that I had gotten out of bed. Ah yeah, so I don't have an appreciation of fine art or something... meh. I'm over it. Soon thereafter it was time to say goodbye to Tollef, Ash and Skot who had a long drive ahead of them. Beth and Emmett took me back to their place where I had left my car the previous day and from there I headed over to Tal and Andrew's place. After a whole bunch of encouragement Andrew cut my hair and it turned out pretty damn cool, he's a natural.

Last night I decided to cut a bit more in the front, which of course was a bad idea, as I am not a natural. Also, the ceiling in my room was leaking right beside my bed. That's about all.

I'm taking Thursday and Friday off again this week for more adventures.



previous - next - guestbook