newest
older
email
host
profile








2003-02-10 - 7:44 a.m. - attitude adjustment, weekend, parents, boxes


I feel like I have three different forces all screaming at me to have a positive attitude towards life right now. It's easier said than done but I decided to give it a try. Last night I went to bed thinking that I would wake up today in a good mood and do my damn best to stay that way. It seems that my decision is already being challenged. I woke this morning cuddled up against and with my arm around... a pile of clothes on my bed. Ouch. Okay avoid those thoughts... move along now. Arrived to work to the tune of a delightful shrill alarm. Nobody here knows how to turn it off so we just shut the door to the reception area to block out the sound a bit and I put some music on in my office. Think good thoughts, think good thoughts. It's going to be a good week! I have so much to look forward to! I have so much to be thankful for! Hmmm. Maybe I should start small and just try to reduce the amount of times I break down crying this week.

I'm avoiding his phone calls. Not because I don't want to talk to him but because it is too difficult to do so.

This weekend was mostly uneventful, which wasn't bad at all. Work has been busy so between that and school I feel like I need the time to just relax or do things around the house. The majority of the weekend was spent making clothes. I gave my "sewing genie" another chance to prove himself to me, but again he failed horribly by breaking the damn needle. Defective bastard. So I just ended up sewing a few things by hand and the rest pinning to be sewn at a later time on someone else's sewing machine.

Highlight of the weekend? When not once, but TWICE I unintentionally used "we" to refer to myself in my inner dialauge. Such as "haven't we discussed this?" and "what should we do?" Yes, that is quite possibly one of the coolest thing I've ever experienced.

Update RE: Envelopes - There has been a change in plans. I will be sending boxes rather than padded envelopes. I hope nobody is too disappointed but the boxes were just cheaper. I was hoping to get them finished last night, but something completely random happened. My parents showed up unannounced. Yeah! I was shocked too. I've lived on my own for over 5 years now and I think that's the first time they've EVER just come over without any warning. Even when I lived in the same city. Even when I lived just a few blocks away. Even when I lived in the house RIGHT NEXT DOOR to them! Yeah! So it completely threw me off guard for a second when they announced their presence moments before showing up at my doorstep. Luckily they forgot which building I live in so they ended up having to call me from the parking lot, allowing me a minute to hide any paraphernalia that might grab their attention. Not that they're completely unaware it exists but they don't really need to see it, you know? Anyhow they seemed to be in a cheery mood and took me out to dinner. It was cool. But, it did interrupt my progress with the boxes. So I plan to finish them up and have them in the mail sometime this week. Isn't the anticipation just killing you? Hooray!



previous - next - guestbook